PANAMA: No visa is required for Schengen Visa Holders and European Union Residents

[PANAMA: Executive Decree 114 of the 4h of April, 2018]

Whereby the requirement of a Visa to enter the Republic of Panama as a tourist is eliminated for those foreigners who hold a Schengen Visa or a Valid Residence in the European Union.

For the purpose of fostering relations of cooperation with the member countries of the European Union, we have the pleasure to submit the following information about the Republic of Panama’s immigration controls.

By Executive Decree 114 of 2018, the Republic of Panama has eliminated the requirement of a visa for entering the national territory in order to allow citizens of countries who, for reasons of internal security, may need an authorized visa, provided always that they have a Schengen Visa or a Valid Residence issued by any one of the countries members of the European Union listed below:

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Rumania and Sweden.

Similarly, residents of the European Union or from countries within the Schengen visa area may enter the territory of the Republic of Panama as tourists without requiring a tourist visa.

In order to fulfill this requirement, the Schengen Visa must be for multiple entries and previously used to enter the country that granted it and must be valid for at least one year.